2005-08-04 - 11:56 p.m.

I HAVE A CRUSH...


Blush, blush�I have a CRUSH..!!

We�ve only been together for about two weeks, but it feels like the real deal.
He�s big and handsome and strong.
He�s spirited and fun�and he makes me feel great. WOW.
I feel totally free and happy when he�s around.
He keeps me in shape, too�with lots of (ahem, ahem) EXERCISE�if you get my drift.
Oh, GOD�he�s SO good..!! (*blush*)
He helps me reach places I haven�t reached in years...
�like Battery Park.

He�s my BIKE.

That�s right, I�m in a wonderful one-on-one relationship with my new bike. His pedigree is impeccable. He�s a descendent of the legendary Schwinn family. His full name is High Timber 2.6 FS, but I call him �Tim��or �Timbo� if I�m feeling playful.

I love to sit on him�and ride him like a wild pony. Sometimes fast and furious and sweaty; sometimes slow and smoothe and easy. We have no agenda, me and Tim; we just do whatever feels right, and we ALWAYS enjoy the ride. We both love doing it outdoors�and we don�t care who�s watching.

Tim is so easy to please. I love taking care of him�wiping him down after a long ride, oiling his parts, squeezing his alloy linear pull brakes to assure quick stops in WET or dry conditions. But, when I�m with Tim�I NEVER want to STOP..!!

He�s so mature and confident. He doesn�t need to show off with 18 speeds and skinny racing tires. He�s a self-assured MOUNTAIN bike�with great style and a solid 7-speed Shimano drivetrain�and I wouldn�t have it any other way.

Timbo and I had great laughs today�watching all the Lance Armstrong wannabes riding along the Hudson River bike path. Sopping wet 250-pound beefers pedaling their feather-light racing bikes wearing size XXXXXXL spandex racing shorts (with the padded seats), the requisite yellow zip-front jerseys and deluxe vented helmets. (Mind you, this is the flattest, safest bike path in New York City.) We passed one flamboyant fatso whose yellow jersey featured a festive red parrot-print. Um, this guy was also wearing a bandana on his head in a "hey dude� 70�s way�AND smoking a cigarette, while steering his bike with one hand.

Tim and I just howled. We both screamed "Easy Rider" at the same time. It was hilarious. We have the same sense of humor; how great is that?

On the way home we stopped at Elixir on Hudson Street for Berry Lean smoothies. I sat on the bench outside the shop, staring at Tim and sipping my smoothie seductively. Tim struck a casual pose with his jaunty kickstand glistening in the sun. I love it when he does that.

Tim is staying in my apartment. I know, I know�we�ve only been going out for two weeks, but we�re so comfortable together. I can�t stand the thought of leaving him in the bike room in the basement�with all those other women coming in and out. I admit it�I�m jealous! I don�t want some 20-something bimbo giving Tim the eye. He�s extremely good looking; I�ve seen the way women stare at him. I don�t want some young blonde stealing him away from me.

I like knowing that my Timbo is ready and waiting�whenever I need a good ride.

Last night I had a dream that Tim�s front tire separated from the rim�and I didn�t know how to repair it. Panic. I tried putting it back together again�but nothing worked. I felt helpless; it was awful. I woke up in a cold sweat�and immediately walked over to check on Tim. He was resting so peacefully (and totally intact!) He couldn�t be any cuter if he was a tricycle�!! I drifted back to sleep, knowing that when I woke up Tim would be there for me.

�Hey, baby�want a ride?� he�ll ask.

And I�ll say, �MMMMmmmmm yes�you know I like it in the morning.�


8 comments so far

previous - next


UNE ESCAPADE BELLE - 2012-04-11
Ooey Gooey Good... - 2010-12-07
Say WHAT..?? - 2009-07-09
THE MENNONITE SCHLEMIEL - 2009-05-30
HARRIET, DAH-LING! - 2008-08-19


PROFILE ARCHIVE DIARYLAND EMAIL ME